Narrative Structures

Most narratives follow one of the classic act structures. The structure determines how the [[!Plot]] advances and when crucial events occur, rather than the overarching Narrative type or the structure of those events themselves.

Classic Narrative Structures

  • [[!Three-Act Structure]]
  • Five-Act Structure or Dramatic Structure
  • Kishotenketsu
  • The Hero's Journey


  • Dan Harmon's Story Circle
  • Dean Koontz’s Classic Story Structure
  • The 7-Point Story Structure
  • Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake Method (more of a method?)
  • James Scott Bell’s A Disturbance and Two Doorways